Highlights

Munich offers something for everyone

Munich has a lot to offer its visitors - enough for a stay of several weeks. For the short trip to the Oktoberfest 7s we have chosen 7 can't-miss highlights for you.

1. Olympic Park

Built for the 1972 Summer Olympics, the Olympic Park has become famous throughout the world for its striking architecture. The Olympic Stadium was the home for Munich's two big football clubs, FC Bayern and TSV 1860, until 2005. The viewing platform on the Olympic Tower (192 meters) offers a magnificient view over the entire city.

2. Marienplatz

The center and heart of Munich is the Marienplatz. The eponymous St. Mary's Column, the Town Hall balcony (known from the championship celebrations of FC Bayern) and the birthplace of the Weißwurst in the "Gasthaus zum ewigen Licht" are just a few of many photo opportunities. Several times a day, all eyes are turn upwards, when the famous chime sounds from the town hall (daily at 11 am, noon, 5 pm and 9pm).

3. Oktoberfest

O'zapft is! It has been copied worldwide, but the original is still the best: The Oktoberfest, or Wiesn for short, is the largest beer festival in the world, attracting 6 million visitors a year. Its origin is the feast of the wedding of King Ludwig I and Princess Therese of Saxe-Hildburghausen in the year 1810. Since then, the Oktoberfest - which to the surprise of many people takes place mostly in September - is an integral part of life in Munich.

4. English Garden

With an area of 375 hectares, the English Garden is one of the largest metropolitan parks in the world. If you are exhausted after long walks or paddling trips, you can refresh yourself in the beer garden next to the Chinese Tower. For sports enthusiasts, the surf spot in the Eisbach is the place to be, as courageous surfers show their skills.

5. Frauenkirche

The Frauenkirche has been one of the city's most famous landmarks since the 15th century, and is well known for its onion domes. Cathedral tours take place in the church from May to September, and one of the two 100-meter high towers is open to visitors. The spectacular view over the city is unique.

6. Viktualienmarkt

The Viktualienmarkt is Munich's largest market. On 22,000 square meters bakers, butchers, cheese, fruit and vegetable sellers offer their goods. Not only the great variety of local food, but above all the unique flair make the Viktualienmarkt an unforgettable experience.

7. Deutsches Museum

The "German Museum for Masterpieces of Science and Technology" is the largest museum of technology in the world. Over 50 topics ranging from agricultural and food technology to timekeeping offer fascinating insights into the history of technology. (Photo: © Deutsches Museum)

en_GBEnglish (UK)
de_DEDeutsch en_GBEnglish (UK)

Stay up to date!

Before you leave, don’t forget to subscribe to the newsletter.

Our newsletter informs you regularly about all news about the rugby tournament of the world elite in the Olympic Stadium.

Highlights

München bietet für jeden etwas

München hat Besuchern viel zu bieten – genug für einen mehrwöchigen Aufenthalt. Für den Kurztrip zu den Oktoberfest 7s haben wir 7 Highlights für Euch heraus gesucht, die man unbedingt mitnehmen sollte.

1. Olympiapark

Erbaut anlässlich der Olympischen Sommerspiele 1972 ist der Olympiapark durch seine markante Architektur weltweit berühmt geworden. In dem Olympiastadion wurden bis 2005 die Heimspiele des FC Bayern und des TSV 1860 Münchens ausgetragen. Die beste Aussicht über die Stadt bietet der Olympiaturm mit seiner 192 Meter hohen Aussichtsplattform.

2. Marienplatz

Das Zentrum und Herz Münchens ist der Marienplatz. Die namensgebende Mariensäule, der Rathausbalkon (bekannt von den Meisterfeiern des FC Bayern) und der Geburtsort der Weißwurst im „Gasthaus zum ewigen Licht“ sind nur einige vielen Fotomotive. Mehrmals täglich richten sich die Blicke nach oben, wenn vom Rathaus das berühmte Glockenspiel erklingt (täglich um 11 Uhr, 12 Uhr, 17 Uhr und 21 Uhr).

3. Oktoberfest

O´zapft is! Weltweit kopiert, aber nirgendwo erreicht: Das Oktoberfest, oder kurz die Wiesn, ist mit jährlich 6 Millionen Besuchern das größte Volksfest der Welt. Seinen Ursprung hat das Fest der Hochzeit von König Ludwig I. und Prinzessin Therese von Sachsen-Hildburghausen im Jahr 1810. Seitdem ist das Oktoberfest – das zur Überraschung vieler Auswärtiger größtenteils im September stattfindet – ein fester Bestandteil des Münchner Lebens.

4. Englischer Garten

Der Englische Garten ist mit einer Größe von 375 Hektar einer der größten Großstadt-Parks weltweit. Wer nach weitläufigen Spaziergängen oder Paddeltouren erschöpft ist, kann sich im Biergarten beim Chinesischen Turm erfrischen. Für die Sportbegeisterten ist der Surfspot im Eisbach ein ganz besonderes Ereignis, da dort mutige Surfer ihr Können zeigen.

5. Frauenkirche

Die Frauenkirche ist seit dem 15. Jahrhundert eines der bekanntesten Wahrzeichen der Stadt und besonders durch ihre Zwiebeltürme unverwechselbar. Von Mai bis September finden Domführungen in der Kirche statt und einer der beiden 100 Meter hohen Türme ist für Besucher zugänglich. Die spektakuläre Aussicht über die Stadt ist einzigartig.

6. Viktualienmarkt

Der Viktualienmarkt ist Münchens größter Markt und für viele Münchner die „gute Stube der Stadt“. Auf dem Markt in der Altstadt preisen auf 22.000 Quadratmetern Bäcker-, Metzger-, Käse-, Obst- und Gemüsehändler ihre Waren an. Nicht nur das große Angebot, sondern vor allem das einzigartige Flair machen den Viktualienmarkt zu einem unvergesslichen Erlebnis.

7. Deutsches Museum

Das „Deutsche Museum von Meisterwerken der Naturwissenschaft und Technik“ ist das größte Technikmuseum der Welt. Über 50 Themenbereiche von Agrar- und Lebensmitteltechnik bis Zeitmessung bieten faszinierende Einblicke in die Technikgeschichte. (Foto: © Deutsches Museum)

de_DEDeutsch
en_GBEnglish (UK) de_DEDeutsch

Bleibe am Ball!

Bevor Du uns verlässt, jetzt noch schnell den Newsletter abonnieren.

Unser Newsletter informiert Dich regelmäßig über alle News zum Rugby Turnier der Weltelite im Olympiastadion.